Imperva Cyber Community

communities_1.jpg
 View Only
  • 1.  How do you Suppress Unwanted events/alarms?

Posted 07-16-2020 07:22
    Edited by Christopher Detzel 07-17-2020 10:56
    Dear All,

I am new to the DAM  and still learning.  I have seen lot of unwanted alerts at agent level and particularly one of them is IPV6 listener traffic from the DB servers. I got reply from imperva  that IPV6 listener traffic not processed by DAM gateway . 

# Could you pls someone to provide the steps to disable/stop IPv6 listener traffic on the respective servers .

Next query i am capturing and analyzing the events from Traffic Distribution Analysis future to exclude the trusted traffic at agent level.

#  Any minimum baseline standard controls to be followed to exclude the same.

Thanks
    Prabhu

​​​
    #DatabaseActivityMonitoring

------------------------------
    Prabhu S

• 2.  RE: How do you Suppress Unwanted events/alarms?

Posted 07-17-2020 10:44
    Hi,

Advanced configuration to disable the constant IPv6 events:
    <system-events-ipv6-listener-identified-enable>false</system-events-ipv6-listener-identified-enable>

Regarding traffic analysis, if the agent is not having performance issues, then consider not ignoring traffic.
    If there are performance issues (lots of system capping, ,etc.), then use the Agent Monitoring Rules > Agent Criteria 
    The Agent Criteria rules typically work well for Source IP addresses and Process Details (note that ignoring the localhost may need to be set to 0.0.0.0).
    You'll want to dig more into the documentation, test in non-prod, and discuss with support to get your environment configured properly.

Michael Kozikowski
    Visa
    DE

• 3.  RE: How do you Suppress Unwanted events/alarms?

Posted 07-17-2020 23:44
    Thanks Michael....

I hope that HPS will decrease and able to see more legitimate DB traffic, , if  disable the IPV6 listener traffic. Could you pls confirm...