Imperva Cyber Community

communities_1.jpg
 View Only
  • 1.  Help with client vs server traffic

Posted 02-01-2021 15:09
    Edited by Fred Percynski 02-01-2021 15:18
    Hello,
    When defining a site in Securesphere, under HTTP Service, on the Reverse Proxy tab, in the section for Transparent Reverse Proxy it refers to a "client" port, a "client" SSL settings, a "server" port, and a "server" SSL settings. (see attached screenshot)   I have two questions about client vs server as traffic is going through Securesphere.  (see attached diagram to help with questions)

1) Traffic from a user on the Internet passes through the edge firewall going to the RedHat proxy server.  As the traffic is passing through the Securesphere what is the client and what is the server?

2)  The RedHat proxy server then initiates a connection to the mailbox server. As the traffic is passing through Securesphere what is the client and what is the server?

Please know that I am new to working with Securesphere so feel free to ask me for more details.
    - Fred

PS - I know some are going to ask why is there a RedHat proxy server behind the WAF.  Its a valid question, but for now lets just leave that out of the discussion.
    PSS - Another valid question might be why the mailbox server is in the Core instead of being in the DMZ.  Again lets leave that out of the discussion.
    #On-PremisesWAF(formerlySecuresphere)

• 2.  RE: Help with client vs server traffic

Posted 02-01-2021 15:30
    Edit: unable to upload a pdf or png screenshot to this forum.   So how about this:

1) Traffic from a user on the Internet passes through the edge firewall going to the RedHat proxy server.  As the traffic is passing through the Securesphere what is the client and what is the server?

User on Internet, with source IP 105.90.90.90, goes to https://mailbox.domain.com which has IP address 40.107.1.1
    Traffic passes through Edge firewall which NAT translates public IP 40.107.1.1 to private IP 172.16.1.1